How to obtain a marriage license

Who and when

Texas Law requires couples to obtain their marriage license at least 72 hours before they are to be married. Exceptions to the 72 hours: Active military status — OR — a waiver issued by a judge.

Expiration date

Senate Bill 1317, Sec. 2.201 now allows 90 days before a marriage license will expire.

Where

A marriage license can be obtained in any county clerk’s office in Texas and can be used in any Texas county. For example, a couple may purchase their marriage license in Travis County and be married in Williamson County, Dallas County, or any other Texas county they choose. Contact your local county clerk’s office for location, hours and acceptable payment types.

Identification

Couples will need at least one form of ID to obtain their marriage license, such as a current driver’s license, certified copy of their birth certificate, or current passport/visa.

Absent applicant or proxy

If either of the couple cannot be present to obtain the marriage license, an “Absent Applicant” form can be used.
If the “Absent Applicant” will not be present to exchange wedding vows, then a “Proxy” needs to be named on the Absent Application form and on the marriage license. Be sure your “Proxy” will be available when you need them.
Contact your local clerk’s office for information.

Your marriage license

Be sure to proofread your marriage license before leaving the clerk’s office. The spelling of your name on a marriage license legally affects you. Brides — your name will not change on this document. You have to get married first. When your officiant signs the license and the county has recorded your marriage, then you may have your last name changed on your driver’s license, bank account, Social Security Card, etc.

Where to obtain a license in Central Texas

Williamson County: $72
405 Martin Luther King St., Georgetown
512-943-1527 or 512-943-7526
Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
www.wilco.org

Travis County: $81 cash or $84 credit
5501 Airport Blvd., Austin
512-854-9188
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday
www.traviscountyclerk.org

Bell County: $67
301 Priest Drive, Killeen
254-634-0768
Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

205 E. Central, Temple
254-770-6806
Open 8 to 11:30 a.m., 1 to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

1201 Huey Road, Belton
254-933-5165
Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
www.bellcountytx.com

Twogether in Texas classes

You can save $60 by completing a pre-approved 8-hour premarital counseling class (www.twogetherintexas.com). Check with your county clerk’s office to seen when and where the next class is being held.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *